Jonathon Brooks named a Doak Walker Award semifinalist

Texas operating again Jonathon Brooks was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award on Tuesday, the PXC SMU Athletic Discussion board introduced. Brooks, who suffered a torn ACL versus TCU, rushed for 1139 yards and 10 touchdowns and caught 25 passes for 286 yards and a rating earlier than his season ended.

[Join Inside Texas and get ONE MONTH of Longhorn intel for just $1!]

A junior from Hallettsville, Brooks didn’t begin the season because the Longhorns’ lead again as CJ Baxter earned begins versus Rice and Alabama. Nevertheless, Brooks earned increasingly carries because the early a part of the season went alongside and Baxter suffered early bumps and bruises. After accumulating 109 yards on the bottom over the primary two video games, Brooks then rattled off 100-yard efforts in six of his final eight video games. The lone exceptions have been a 99-yard efficiency at Houston and a 98-yard day versus BYU.

His outing towards the Kansas Jayhawks was the most effective of his profession and his first ever 200-yard sport. Brooks had 21 carries for 218 yards and two touchdowns, additionally catching one cross for 18 yards. His 2023 is the twenty sixth 1000-yard season at school historical past. His 1139 yards is 14th most in a season in Texas soccer historical past.

The Longhorns have had 4 totally different gamers win a complete of 5 Doak Walker Awards. Ricky Williams took house the distinction in back-to-back years in 1997 and 1998. The late Cedric Benson collected the award in 2004. D’Onta Foreman obtained the billing of the nation’s prime again in 2016. Bijan Robinson was the newest Longhorn recipient, profitable in 2022.

Three finalists for the 2023 Doak Walker Award might be introduced per week from as we speak and the winner might be unveiled dwell on ESPN throughout The Dwelling Depot Faculty Soccer Awards on December 8. The formal presentation of the award will happen on the SMU campus on the annual banquet scheduled for February 16, 2024.

[Sign up NOW for the Inside Texas newsletter for Texas Longhorns daily updates and breaking news in your inbox!]

The 2023 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists:

  • Jonathon Brooks – Texas
  • Tahj Brooks – Texas Tech
  • Marcus Carroll – Georgia State
  • Blake Corum – Michigan
  • Ollie Gordon II – Oklahoma State
  • Omarion Hampton – North Carolina
  • R.J. Harvey – UCF
  • Damien Martinez – Oregon State
  • Cody Schrader – Missouri
  • Kimani Vidal – Troy

Taylor Mitchell

Taylor Mitchell grew up with a deep love for sports, inspired by her family's tradition of watching games together. Hailing from a small town, Taylor's journey into sports journalism began with local high school games and community events.
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker